35 comments on “Thursday Doors – Baha’i House of Worship

  1. Wow – I’ve actually been there. I used to live about a block from Northwestern University and we would walk up there all the time. Small world.

  2. That lace around the top part of the door is beautiful! As well as the reflections! Don’t know anything about the Bahia. It seems they have well to do donors:)

  3. What an impressive building and arches/ doors and it must be an unusual design in Wilmette. Thanks for sharing, it’s lovely to stumble on the unusual!

  4. I like that place! I haven’t been there in awhile. Your pictures are wonderful, particularly the first one with the reflection in the pond dissolving into the tile pattern on the far side. Lovely!

  5. Sue, you did a wonderful job photographing the Wilmette House of Worship. And you were lucky too! In fact, it has just finished (a year or two ago, now, I suppose) a decade long renovation and rejuvenation and your photos remind me that I want to go back there again. I am a Baha’i and I can tell you that this particular House of Worship is particularly well loved around the world. It is the oldest yet standing and as there are, as yet, only eight (with a few more planned) its history and legacy–being built during the Depression by a very small and poor Baha’i community–is an inspiration to us all. You noted that there are nine sides and nine entrances…this is a requirement to Houses of Worship, as is the fact that readings from all the world’s major religions (Islam, Christianity, Buddhism, Hindu, Zoroastrianism, Judaism, etc) as well as the Baha’i Faith must be read there as a sign of the unity of all religions.

    Thank you so very, very much for sharing this beautiful treasure with your readers! 🙂

    • Thank you for your kind words and interesting information. Although I am not a church-goer as such, I always feel a sense of peace when I visit places such as the Baha’i House of Worship.

Leave a Reply

