25 comments on “Lens-Artists Photo Challenge – What A Treat!

  1. Places like this can rise again. It takes the right people with a vision. I’ve lived in towns that flourished because an artist and an architect drove the project and some that just declined because the local government just couldn’t see the potential.

    • I do wonder sometimes, just how much help the local government has provided to get these business back on their feet. I imagine property sells for a premium outside the business district in this area and it will only be a matter of time before everything is swept away to make room for high-priced houses and condos. Very sad!

  2. This is a wonderful photo essay, Sue. I love your nostalgic and realistic look at this place. It does mark the end of an era, doesn’t it? It was a real treat to see Long Grove through your eyes. I hope you’re enjoying the Marmite!

    • Thanks, Patti. I hope that Long Grove will eventually enjoy a revival but I’m doubtful. People’s tastes change along with the times and somehow I just can’t image it ever recapturing the atmosphere that it once had. But the Marmite is jolly good!

    • It really was two treats in one, not only for the shopping experience but just to enjoy the ambiance of the place especially when there was a festival of some kind. One of those things where you could definitely look back on it and say, “Ah, the good old days!”

  3. Well they do say that all good things must come to an end Sue, but how sad for such a quaint spot to fall into disrepair. Many similar places have been revitalized so who knows – it may yet rise again! Excellent overview of it all – the covered bridge story is remarkable

    • Maybe it’s a generational thing. Most of the people my age who were into antique shopping etc. have ‘been there, done that,’ and it has ceased to be an attraction. The younger generation are perhaps not so much into cute and have other interests. I don’t know how else to explain such a marked drop-off in numbers. Thanks for stopping by, Victoria, and commenting.

      • This could be true and I feel there is less appreciation of smaller things these days, and people would rather go out and spend a lot off money, or just stay at home. Although this isn’t always the case.

  4. A wonderful treat to take a virtual tour of this special place. So glad the cover bridge was not completely destroyed. Beautiful photos, Sue. 🙂

    • Thanks, Amy! I was glad I managed to get a few more shots of this area. There may come a time, and probably in the not too distant future, when pictures will be the only thing to remind us of the old Long Grove shopping district.

  5. It’s sad to read about businesses that were just hanging on, only to be shuttered because of the added stress of the pandemic. I could see myself spending time in a place like this back in its glory days.

    • It was always so much fun, listening to the German band playing in the Square at the Apple Festival or stopping in at the Chocolate shop for free samples. Happy times! It will be interesting to see how the land lies this time next year.

  6. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #121: Focus on the Subject – P.A. Moed

    • Thanks for stopping by, Rusha. I will be posting more pictures of Long Grove in the near future. It makes me sad to go there and see how it is now, remembering the old times, but it’s one of the few places where I can still get items from back home, and I’m hoping that maybe when things return to somewhat normal, people will start to visit again.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.